I've never been a very good patient, and I've neevr had much patience.


The thing with being in recovery is  you're not really supposed to do a great deal of anything. Nothing. And that, for me, is a problem. I usually have a million and one things I need (have) to do, and right now I'm not allowed to do a single one of them. And it's making me a very dull boy. 

So much so that I think I'm heading for a Jack Torrence moment, actually.

For those of you who know me will know I've had eye surgery to correct something I'd long since buried my head in the sand about. For the longest time I thought I was going blind in one eye (a part of being diabetic, I thought) and being as I had a phobia of having anyone or anything going near my eye, I resigned myself to my fate. The idea of it turned my stomach. 

Anyway, long story short, I had someone look at my eye and discovered that it was a treatable (if somewhat dense) cataract that could be put right with treatment. I'm not three days out of treatment and things are looking up. Slowly. Slightly.

The sight's just about back in the affected eye, but it's not 100% yet.

But, goddamn, the healing process is so slow and restrictive that I can't really do anything and it's driving me nuts.

In the meantime I just have to wait ... and wait ... and wait ... and wait some more.




Comments